The correlation between our relationship with God….and…. fitness?

Yes. I just went there.

Ok, before you completely throw everything I have to say out the window… listen up. haha

I am a senior at Arkansas Tech University and i’m studying Wellness Science there, and I won’t lie, I love it! Ever since I declared WS as my major my sophomore year, I have been stoked about it. In high school I was always an athletic guy, but i was too small when i started college to play on any of the sports teams (147 pounds lol) and i really didn’t see myself going Pro in anything, so i wasn’t going to waste my time.

But anyways, I love lifting weights. If i was guilty of an addiction besides Jesus, it would be that. Since my 147 pound entry into college i have gained roughly 30 pounds of lean muscle (I’ll weight anywhere from 175-178 on a daily basis) through hard work and overloading my body on a consistent basis through weight training. What even cooler, is that with only gaining 30 pounds, I have gained 80 pounds on my bench press max (now around 285), 120 pounds on squat (now around 400-410), and about 150 pounds on my deadlift max (somewhere around 445).

So all of you that read what I write that have no idea what any of that means, that’s ok… But this is my point…. How did i gain muscle and strength over that period of time?

Faithfulness and Discipline.

Gaining weight is a very slow process, as is gaining strength. So is gaining in your christian walk.

So many people seek fast results, and when they dont get them, they just quit. Just throw in the towel.

But what growth is there in that? Your body adapts only when stress is placed on it. Then growth comes.

So when you’re christian walk is tough, and things arent going the way you would like them, don’t quit!! Remember you’re growing, even when you can’t see it, or feel it. It’s there.

“For all things work together for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose”-Romans 8:28

Much Love and God Bless!

ZV

Image

http://www.sacredmint.com/community/christian-article-resistance-training.htm

http://www.blessedwarrior.com/2011/05/without-pain-there-is-no-growth.html

Leave a Reply

