Reflection on my 24 hour technology detox…

I enjoyed this time away from technology. A LOT.

It’s so easy for me to become so dependent upon my phone, and my laptop, and Facebook, and Instagram, and texting, and emailing, and EVERYTHING ELSE that buys for my time on a consistent and continual basis. This experience was super nice for me because i got a chance to actually do something that allowed me to improve as a person. With no distractions, it’s amazing what can get accomplished!

I started on monday night at midnight and ran all day through tuesday. Obviously, the first 8 hours I was asleep so it was no big deal then, ( I can’t use technology then, unless i’m sleep texting… which sometimes i wouldn’t doubt. haha) But once I woke up, I realized the first thing i did was look at my phone (which I do everyday). From there, I had to go into work at 10. Well, I had 2 hours to spare before then, so i read out of the bible for around 35 minutes, played my guitar for another 20 or so, then prayed for 10 minutes or so. After all that, I showered and got ready for work.

While at work I had to use the cash register and computer screen occasionally, but i never used a phone or the internet.

After I got off work at 5, I won’t lie, It was EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to avoid technology until midnight. I lead a small group on tuesday nights for Campus Church, and i had to get in touch with everyone the night before during our weekly service to let them know all about the details of tuesday night. Once we all arrived at our meeting point, I made people that came text those who weren’t there yet. Then we went and ate together and talked about Jesus stuff.

Really though, I thoroughly enjoyed my time away from “The Grid” so to speak. Often times I feel like my relationship with God suffers because I get too busy talking to people through a mediated means of communication as well as just constantly looking at something online or on my phone.

I feel guilty because i don’t spend as much time with God as I should, but all it takes is for me to put my stuff down for a while and do it. Once I do, I ALWAYS reap the benefits of it all.

In Psalms chapter 1, it says something very similar to this “Blessed is the man who meditates on the law of the Lord day and night, he is like a tree planted by streams of water, whose leaves never wither. Whatever he does prospers.”

That’s why I want to be connected to God and his word whenever possible. I don’t want the distractions of this world to get in my way. So even as awful as this “detox” sounded, once I did it, I could really appreciate all the good that came with it. It was nice to not worry about checking my phone, or even having to talk to other people on the phone at times.

Overall, I enjoyed the detox and I think i may incorporate it into my life on my own in the future!

Leave a Reply

